Israel: Day 75

It’s official, this is the last post about my trip to Israel.

I left the Jerusalem flat at half past midnight, it took us another half an hour to pick up other people. It was a bumpy ride, the driver drove like crazy – really fast, and didn’t really pay attention to curbs…it wasn’t exactly a comfortable ride to be honest.

I got to the airport at 2am, and as the check in wouldn’t open until 5am, I spent some time at a cafe (and got latte #4 in 24 hs). Around 5am I passed through the first security check – a sort of interview where I was asked about what I was doing in Israel and who packed me, etc. Afterwards I went to the check in, I wasn’t pleased that only one check in desk was open, and people were cutting the line! Then I went through the security check, which took another 30 minutes (seemed like ages to me) and then finally a passport control, where there was another big queue. So since I started queuing for the security interview and until I left the passport check it all took 90 minutes in total! Crazy!

I was hoping to get some sleep on the plane, but I couldn’t, I wasn’t really pleased with the Slovak flight crew, the cockpit was open so often that I was really worried that either someone was going to hijack the plane or that one of the pilots was dying and they kept opening the cockpit to check on him. Those four hours on the plane almost drove me nuts.

But it was worth the wait. I safely landed in Slovakia and had my entire family wait for me there: Bella, mum, grandma and my uncle! Bella was really excited to see me and I was even more excited to see her, we kissed a lot and then I gave her a small gift I got for her in Tel Aviv a few weeks ago, and of course she helped me look for it, she’s such a good girl!

I am so glad I am back home, I missed my family SO much! Now I can get some proper sleep and not worry about cockroaches or any other stuff! And it’s soooo clean and comfy here!

I miss Israel so much, and I am so glad I had this opportunity to spend almost 11 weeks in that beautiful country. I got to know many nice people, and I hope I can keep in touch with at least some of them! I got to see so many beautiful places, so many sites, so many museums. I liked Haifa, its spectacular views and special atmosphere. I liked Tel Aviv even more, its beautiful beaches, museums and mix of the old and the new. But one place I loved more than these two combined, Jerusalem. It is such a special city, and to understand it, you have to visit it. It’s a holy place to three major religions, and you can feel the religious and holy atmosphere, it’s unlike all the other places I visited before. I cannot wait until I am back.

I’ve got some beautiful memories of the country I will always cherish, and I also have some physical mementos, like my terrible sunburn from Tel Aviv – those scars will remind me that no matter how beautiful the place is, I should never underestimate the power of the Sun!

(P.S. the final count of how many kilometres I walked while I was in Israel is…*drum roll*  471, 92 km)

Bye, Israel, I am already missing you.

Shabbat Shalom.


This blog post was co-written by Bella, who’s sitting next to me.

2 thoughts on “Israel: Day 75

Leave a Reply

